Tattooed Pets?

15 Apr

I have sort of an obsession with hairless cats.  I’m not sure why, but I think it’s some combination of them looking so vulnerable without their hair, their strange resemblance to baby gerbils, and their lack of shedding.  So naturally I google “hairless cat” about once a month.  Imagine my surprise when I happened upon this today during one of these searches:

cattattoo1Is this real? Photoshopped?  I can’t be sure, but it looks authentic to me.  Further research led to me to these images:

26892_2_46826892_3_468-1Hairless cats seem to be the favorite among pet tattoo artists the world over, but small dogs are not excluded:26892_4_468If these are indeed real, live, truly-tattooed animals, why hasn’t PETA written a huge expose about the phenomenon?  Why hasn’t this been on my radar at all?  Now I wouldn’t personally tattoo any pet of mine- our cat has enough to deal with after having his reproductive organs forcefully removed and having to cuddle with Shawn and I night after night.  I will admit that these animals look pretty badass, but it seems a little cruel.  And there’s more.  

Wim Delvoye is an arist that tattoos live pigs and then displays their skin as art after they’re gone to hog heaven. These little piggies have been tattooed to look like Louis Vitton purses, which perhaps is supposed to make us think about how we use animal bodies for style and fashion:

lv_pigYou can read more about Delvoye here.  And if you google “tattooed pigs,” there a plethora of crazy shit out there for you to look at.

If you ask me, I say the way more humane route is to get a poodle and dye the hell out of it.  But some people would call me cruel for that , arguing that these poodles are “beautiful just the way they are.”  B take a gander at these little guys and tell me they don’t look totally awesome:

 

panda poodle!

panda poodle!

dragon poodle!

dragon poodle!

doctor suess would be proud

doctor suess would be proud

ok fine, maybe this one is going a LITTLE far

ok fine, maybe this one is going a LITTLE far

45 Responses to “Tattooed Pets?”

  1. Arabic tattoo June 25, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    This is horrible! Abusing pets!

  2. Yvette July 6, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    I think either way you look at it is bad, One a little more than the other though. I had heard about dying animal’s hair before and never really sat and thought about it till I came across this post.
    Dying an animal’s hair will honestly make it look ridiculous, maybe cute (To some people) but it’s completely unnessesary. (Why on earth would you make your poodle look like a Ninja Turtle?!)

    Tattooing an animal on the other hand I think is uncalled for. I mean I have many tattoos myself and it’s called pain you put yourself through, pain you asked for and are more than willing to sit through and bite your tongue, but these animals did not ask to be trademarked under Louis Voutton (Spell-Check!) Unless LV is just marking their territory for the slaughter that’s bound to come in a near future.

    My point being, if you are willing to ink yourself up or dye your hair, by all means go for it, I do it ALL the time. But when we are talking about another being that has no self defense against humans and the crazy stuff they do, then it’s just plain n simply (Or should I say outrageous) considered animal abuse.

  3. maria September 27, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    how can you tatoo your pet? thats awful but OMG the panda poodles are gawjuss… I WANT A PANDA POODLE =D

  4. Anonymous October 30, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    i know pig skin is thick enough for them not to feel the pain, but not sure on the hairless cat. cool none the less!

  5. chris November 21, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    you crazy that is aanimal crulaty
    howhould you like it if you had a very fine coat and some person dyed it
    u should be ashamed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Sacha December 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    I photoshoped my hairless dog.. you can see on the site.
    Photoshop is much better than reality. If they had a choice don’t think they would want a tattoo

  7. shira February 12, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    I gotat tell that my firend is a tattooist and he tattooed little star to his dog. This was done in a vet while the dog was under anesthesia, it took 20minutes to do that.
    How he manage to talk the vet to do it, dunno. He told that he wanted personal id for his dog.
    I don`t think that the dog was sick after that or under pain as he is a happy adult nowadays.

    What kind of color people use for dying their pets? I mean yuo honestly cannot use the same shit as people do, cause dogs skin is more sensitive for ammonia, hydrogen peroxide and shit like that.
    I have heard that some uses straight colors like crazy colors or the color used on food (to make non-permanent coloring) but I think the dogs (or cats) wouldn`t like to be messed with the water and color etc etc.

  8. bec February 27, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    i work with animals at a boarding kennel and we have on site groomers, in our product catalogue from our grooming supplier there is a whole range of pet hair dye!!!! i wouldnt dye my own animals hair and we havent dyed any clients, but it doesnt harm them in any way its just like shampooing them!!!!

  9. Kris April 1, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    No. Just… NO.

  10. Anonymous April 11, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    what the !?#**%@ i have never ever seen this before but this is down right cruel it is mean to harness a cat that was born to run free but tattooing thats sick. I have tattoos and know the pain this is just cruelty to animals.

  11. Neil Kerry April 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    i wish people would just let poodles be dogs :-(

  12. Catherine B April 18, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    As entertaining it is to look at the pics of the pets with tats and died fur, it’s just as sad that pet owners are subjecting the’re so called beloved family member through it just for thier own selfish pleasures. Funny, if the tables were turned, no man or woman would want someone to not acept them as they are and try to to radical make overs with out their consent. *The panda poodle is so cute, but I would never die my dog’s fur.

  13. Catherine B April 18, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Correction on my post..just realized I mispelled dye. *Sorry*

  14. hairless cat lover May 6, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    u are a total disgrace. how could u do such a thing to those poor,poor,poor,poor cats. it’s already hard enough for them not to have hair.

  15. Oriana May 29, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    I kinda like it but I wouldn’t tattoo my cat. I once died my dogs hair blue, he didn’t seem to care.

  16. brenda June 13, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    while you can use people hair dye on pets, it needs to be tested first, just like with humans. while there are some sick individuals out there ( like the woman who was piercing kitties) and obviously these tattoos ( if real). hair dying ( when done correctly) is safe. it does not hurt the pet. these pets enjoy the attention, or they wouldnt sit so patiently. some designs take several sessions to complete. but seriously people. its hair. it will either wash out or grow out. get over it.

  17. carol June 16, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    That is just wrong. Humans put pain on themselves because they want too. Tattooing an animal is just not right.
    If a person wants a tat, so be it, just leave the pet alone.
    People have more money than brains. Did they put those cats under sedation or did they do like for people and just do the tat? You can not tell me the animal did not fee the inkl needle and someone had to hold the animal down so it would not move to run away. PETA were the hell are you.
    cc

  18. mysoadhilldrop June 21, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    I have a poodle, and I dye him… I would never however use human hair dye because if my dog licked it he would get really sick and I wouldn’t risk it. I don’t use dog dye either because ic you read the bottles it says that it can’t come in contact with eyes or mouth… (Meaning it is poison too!) I use concentrated food coloring and it works just fine and doesn’t hurt my dog.
    As far as the tattooing goes I know this guy and before it was illegal he used to have purebred dogs shipped from Russia and the dogs would get to him with an identification tattoo. I would never tattoo my dog because I would feel like crap knowing that I am MAKING my dog sit through something really painful for no apparent reason. If you are going to tattoo your pet why not tattoo your kid as soon as they come out of the womb? Why not tattoo a stranger on the street? It is pretty much the same idea.
    And people complaining about dying poodles or whatever… I don’t see what the problem is as long as you are safe and smart about it. My dog is used to taking a bath and that is when he gets dyed so it really doesn’t phase him as anything different or out of the norm. Plus he loves all the hugs and kisses from strangers that if gets him. It is no more cruel than dressing your dog in a ridiculous dress or dressing your kid like an idiot when they are young.

  19. maria santos June 23, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    That’s so cruel. Tattoos hurt. Humans shouldn’t be making these decisions for animals. I mean we have the right to say if we want tattoos or not but animals can’t speak.

  20. cousydogg July 6, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    i think the tattooed cat is awesome.
    maybe it would have preferred some sort of hair motif, though?

  21. OT3P_Wolf July 23, 2010 at 3:56 am #

    As long as the pet was sedated, tattoos are simply decoration. If not it is cruel and painful. I would probably tattoo my dog, but only with a small tattoo for both accentuation and identification. Large tattoos are likely to get infected or be very uncomfortable while healing.

  22. Ray August 6, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    No, I am against doing this to pets. I don’t know their threshold of pain. Also it just doesn’t feel right.

  23. tom August 14, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    i think this is great lol best thing iv seen all month im gonna look into this and tattoo all my animals if its not all photoshop haha GREAT STUFF and for all u peta people grow up you eat animals everyday sit your fat ass at mcdonalds and eat 46 double cheese burgers in front of your cat and feed them processed food really come on at least these cats have homes and are not stuck in a box fed steroids for your fat asses to eat seriously you all need to look around and worry about your own habbits

  24. cassie August 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    how

  25. cassie August 24, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    panda poodie is coo; that asom i want one
    im never ever going to tattoo pet

  26. Maddy September 13, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    How can anyone say the tattoos are OK? And how can you compare it to eating meat? Animals who are bred to go into the food chain are different to pets for a start. They are bred for that purpose, and personally I only eat meat where I can be assured it has had a good life (for example free range chickens NOT battery hens!) and have died quickly. Besides once they are dead they feel no pain.

    A cat/dog/pig with a tattoo has to live with that pain, even if they are sedated for the procedure there is still pain as the ‘wound’ heals. Also tattoos can easily become infected, especially in pets who like to roll around outside (or are they being denied that too?) And none of that considers the implications of needlessly sedating an animal – which any vet will tell you is a dangerous and risky thing to do as there can be many complications with anaesthesia!

    As for the dying, personally I wouldn’t do it. I do think the panda pup is just gorgeous, but then if you want a ‘cute’ pet buy a ‘cute’ breed. There are so many dogs which look adorable naturally, and many of them are in need of a good home! Saying that if it is done with safe products and isn’t too OTT (like TMNT poodle!) then I are not as against it as I am the tattooing. If the animal is not put through stress having the dye put in, if it doesnt injure the animal, cause sensitivity, or illness, and if the animal isnt then forced to ‘perform’ because of the dying then I agree that it isnt much worse than dressing a dog up in silly clothes. Although I will start again that I would NOT consider it.

    I cannot believe pet tattoos are legal! Does anyone know what the law says?

  27. Maddy September 13, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Should have said ‘state’ not ‘start’ at the end of my rant there – oopsy!

  28. Carey October 25, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    This is so disgusting, wow. I can’t believe someone would tattoo their animal, it’s just filthy, and anyone who would put their animal through TORTURE is a despicable human being. If you think this is cute, there’s CLEARLY something wrong with you.

    Tattooing humans hurts, I know because I walked out after a min of trying to receive a tattoo, so, you think an animal, who doesn’t have the communication skills to say “no” could sit through this and get this tattoo. I’m so angry to see that animals are tattooed.

    I think tattoos on humans (I mean the ones who cover themselves) look retarded. Why would you put an animal through this, It’s ridiculous, ugh, I’m disgusted.

    I don’t agree with dying any animals hair, nor will it ever be okay. It should simply just be illegal.

    ANYONE READING THIS, IF YOU DID THIS TO YOUR ANIMAL, 99% OF THE POPULATION IS DISGUSTED BY YOUR ANIMAL CRUELTY. IT’S PATHETIC, AND YOU DESERVE SO MUCH WORSE. PEOPLE LAUGH AT YOU & FEEL SYMPATHY FOR YOUR ANIMALS. YOU ARE RETARDS AND GREEDY. LOVE YOUR ANIMALS THE WAY THEY ARE.

  29. Dactyl November 21, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Funny how these people get all upset about tattoo on animals done under anesthesia. Personally I believe that the tattoo would look quite nice if done tastefully.
    Besides, getting ink in the dermis layer of their cat is MUCH LESS invasive than let’s say… ohhh you know…. neutering (the process of REMOVAL of their reproductive organs or declawing (the removal of the distal portion of their phalanx *end bones*).
    Repeat what I just said outloud and think how ignorant you were.

    Pathetic, people. Just because it’s unusual, it suddenly becomes the sadistic practice while millions of your cat owners are willing to cut off their reproductive organs and finger tips everyday. Just pathetic, people.

    To Carey, you sound like a whiny spoiled bitch, you know that? notice how you said that you walked out after a min of trying to receive a tattoo due to pain, then you quickly complain about the ugliness of people with more tattoos, talk about hypocrite.

  30. Anonymous December 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    people, the tattoos on the hairless cats are obviously photoshopped.. you can’t believe everything you see on the internet.. sheesh.

  31. Painful Truth January 2, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    The comments have been amusing. People freaking out as if a child was tortured. Hitler actually loved animals more than people.

    Carey is clearly in this same boat. Not a nazi, but like Hitler, someone who is very deeply disturbed. Don’t let people like them near your children. It’s a serious danger.

  32. Bobby February 15, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    I gather most of you are Americans. Sorry guys but a hairless cat is a MAN made animal, it’s as close to a GENETIC freak as you can get. And what’s with all of the ear cropping you guts are so mad about in the US? We in Australia had it banned years ago, and tail docking is being ruled out too. As far as the tattoos go. Cats feeling pain- please. They are the most ruthless animal , man is yet to domesticate (not the cats fault of course) however, have any of you ever seen the damage a Feral (read domestic cat set free) can do to native fauna? I’d happily tattoo every cat in Australia, with a shotgun. They are a blight on our fragile and beautiful flora and Fauna.

  33. mr206 February 17, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    I want to get some tattoos for my dog!

  34. Anonymous June 16, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    I wouldn’t do the tattoo, but love the coloring. My sister does her poodle in different colors through out the year. She uses kool-aid when she is shampooing the dog. Rose loves getting a bath and doesn’t seem to think anything about it. Infact I think she likes the attention she gets from everyone when she is “pretty-in-pink”.

  35. Anonymous June 25, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    This is EPIC. :)
    Love it.

  36. Anonymous November 12, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    Curious to find out if this tattoing is for real, I am left with the same questions as when I started out. Correct, they can be photoshoped pictures but some of those tattos look real. Dactyl brought out really good points, we do torture our animals and find it perfectly acceptable, because it serves our purpose. Interesting debate.

  37. will November 15, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    It’s real… http://rt.com/art-and-culture/news/get-your-pet-tattooed/

    After working as a vet tech I learned about these common practices considered humane and are legal in the U.S.

    Ear docking (cutting of cartilage, * AESTHETICS*)
    Tail docking (cutting of ligaments and cartilage, * AESTHETICS*)
    Declawing (cutting of the tips of fingers, ligaments and cartilage, * AESTHETICS*)
    Removing of vocal cords (ripped out while semi-conscious due to high-risk surgery and effectiveness, * AESTHETICS*)
    Mass euthanization i.e. gas chambers (hallucinations, seizures, bang heads on floors/walls, fights, *CHEAPER*)
    Teeth cleaning (the most painful and routine procedure, *HEALTH*)

    Before you lash out at tattooing animals, a mere epidermal abrasion done under anesthesia, compare it to the list above, where the majority of owners in the U.S. have done 4 of these procedures. Many animals that came in had skin conditions worse than what a tattoo would be from neglect; rotting and infected toe nails, ear infections, tooth rot and decay, ALL purely from neglect. Tattooing animals would be trivial to any of these procedures. Also do not try to inject your Pathos morality in this argument, as animals are not self-aware.

  38. Renée November 30, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I don’t agree with the tattooing at all! Even though the tattoos are always done under anaesthesia (no animal would stay still for that). But I’m not against dying an animals coat as long as dye made specifically for animals is used, and it’s not an every day thing. Those weird looking ones (ninja turtle, dragon etc.) are done for a competition.

    In the end, the animals really don’t care either way, but to tattoo more than a ID mark or spay/neuter mark on an animal is simply selfish.

  39. Donna January 2, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    I am interested to know how many of you who object to tattooing and dyeing animals think it’s perfectly acceptable to declaw a cat? For those of you who think it’s just fine, declawing does NOT only remove a cat’s claws, it AMPUTATES the top 1/3 of their toe bone! Their claws are attached to the end of their toe bone; there is no way to remove the claw without also removing 1/3 of the toe bone. It would be like cutting off the tips of all 10 of your fingers from your nail down to the knuckle just below it. How many of you knew this? Don’t feel bad, many don’t know this fact! Hence the continuation of the barbaric, selfish practice of declawing! How does it help the cat? It doesn’t. It causes great pain and sometimes severe infection. Some cats’ feet become deformed afterwards. It really is a horrendous procedure and completely unnecessary in this day and age. Please don’t do it! Use Soft Paws instead! Soft Paws are plastic nail caps you glue onto your cat’s nails so the nails cannot scratch or claw into things. The caps do not hurt the cat in any way! They naturally fall off in 4-6 weeks as your cat’s nails grow and shed their outer layer (happens normally with all cats – with or without nail caps). Declawing is BANNED in most countries of the world – except for the US. Please don’t declaw your cats! Google “Soft Paws” to find a retailer. They can also be purchased at discount from auction sites. >^.^<

  40. Anonymous March 9, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    tattooists who are ‘practicing,’ will sometimes practice on pigskin.

    not usually while they are alive.

    the cat/dog thing- i d k … but lets put it this way, if anyone has ever met any tattoo artist, they can be some twisted folk.

    I find myself drawing on my desk-if you tattooed for a living could you see yourself ‘wandering,’ off the page (so to speak).

    while there are certain elements of cruelty here, I also find it to be somewhat entertaining, and hope that if these animals are alive, that they were sedated (which I am sure they were considering how much people squirm while getting tattooed, and that my dog will not sit still enough for me to run a comb through his fur).

  41. Anonymous October 4, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Tattooing a hairless cat isn’t cruel- The dyes help prevent them from developing skin cancer, which I’ve heard they are very susceptible to.

    Really it’s just another way to help keep your pet healthy, it just also happens to be very much awesome to look at

  42. dehrien sneddon November 27, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    Okay I have read every post on here. Honestly this is my opinoin. Every person is different and just like a person every dog, cat, bird, fish, bee, tree, grass, bug, atom, life is not always completely alike we and everything around us is different. It is not right for people to judge others on what they do or who they do it to ( I mean being unique or individualized) dogs if under the correct sercemstances have the same descission as you me or the next thirty people. Yes you can have an opinion,” man that looks kool but I would never do it.” Or “man that’s kool I just might give it a try. ” I believe that there is a wrong way to go about it and a right way. If you go the wrong way there are necessary procedures (law) that have been established to work or prevent these things from 1 continuing and 2 handeking the situation as soon as it becomes known. It is not okay to be mad for someone going about these very touchy topics but if they do everything in their power to make the dog comfortable and okay with wat is happening then who are you to say that’s cruel. The definition for cruelty is The infliction of physical pain, suffering, or death upon an animal, when not necessary for purposes of training or discipline or (in the case of death) to procure food or to release the animal from incurable suffering, but done wantonly, for mere sport, for the indulgence of a cruel and vindictive temper, or with reckless indifference to its pain. So if the dog shows signs of pain and the person either stops and doesn’t do it again its not cruel. If they don’t show pain its still not cruel. If it shws pain and they don’t stop you better lock that motherfucker up!

  43. dehrien sneddon November 27, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Also if it is not illegal hell ima tat my dog up wit me

  44. Ana March 9, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    Hoorible idiot

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. new craze - My German Shepherd Forum - February 12, 2013

    […] owners return time and time again to have tattoo shaved back. At least it's not as bad as this:- Tattooed Pets? Dale Mackey __________________ All Good Things Come To Those Who Wait – That's How I Got Breezer!!!!! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

