Green Tomato Juice

21 Sep

I’m sad to say that our tomato plants had a pretty rough summer.  Insane heat, little rain and some serious neglect meant we had nowhere near the beautiful bounty of bright red ‘maters we enjoyed last year.  We do, however have enough green tomatoes to feed an army, if said army really enjoyed underripe vine-grown veggies.  To make sure these tomatoes didn’t go to waste, and to save Shawn and I from the weight gain that would surely result from frying them all, I made some green tomato juice for last weekend’s hootenany and it was kind of a hit.

A friend asked me for a recipe and i came up with the following.  You can play around with the sugar and lime ratio according to your taste:
Ingredients:
4 green tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 jalepeno or cowboy pepper
juice of one lime
2 C water
1/3 cup sugar

Toss all ingredients into a blender.  Strain blended mixture into a jar and add several fresh basil leaves. Add more water to taste if necessary.

We used some of the juice to make an appropriately green cocktail for Slow Food Knoxville’s Pesto Festo and it was pretty delicious.

Green Tomato Gin Fizz

Ingredients:

1 oz gin

3 oz green tomato juice

juice of 1/4 lime

soda water

Add gin and tomato juice to ice glass.  Stir well, add soda water to taste and squeeze lime juice into glass.


2 Responses to “Green Tomato Juice”

  1. Janet December 23, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Oooooohhhhhhh……Thank you for this wonderful green tomato juice recipe. I have an extreme reaction to food additives, and I have been looking for home made tomato juices. I Happen to have enough frozen green tomatoes from this fall. Now I can enjoy a bloody Mary on CHRISTMAS MORNING with the rest of the family. So far this year, I have made green tomato salsa, green tomato relish and green tomato catsup.

  2. Penny September 5, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    I make green tomato relish so I have a lot of tomato juice left over, I am going to simmer it, add lemon juice and process it. I think this would be a good base for vegetable soup etc.. If anyone else has tried this , I would like to know how it turned out , Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

