Make a Hanging Garden

17 Aug

A quick note before the post:  I want to do a blog post featuring a gallery of pictures of people at work. If you have a free minute in the next few days, take a picture of yourself at work (however you define that). It can be a simple picture from your computer’s camera/a mobile device or you can stage an elaborate portrait of you fixing your roof or discovering the cure for cancer. Possibilities = endless. Then email it to me at mackeyda@gmail.com. Come on, it’ll be fun!  And now, on to the hanging garden…

A few weeks ago a friend sent me a link to this post about “string gardens” on Curbly.  I cannot tell you what a crush I have on these hanging plants.  They look magical and otherworldy, like something you would find if you stumbled upon a pixie’s bedroom in the woods or something or happened upon the backyard of a really cute Martian. I’ve been really into gardening lately, and into making our porch and backyard as much like an outdoor living room as possible.  As I worked on the backyard this week, those string gardens kept popping into my head so I finally decided to try and replicate them myself.  I’m happy with how they turned out, though I’ll be curious to see how long they last… Fingers crossed it’ll be for awhile.  I’m smitten.


I tried two different methods, both of which worked equally well:

Coconut Husk Hanging Plants

The first method used a planter liner made from coconut husks.  It’s biodegradable, holds soil in and allows for drainage.  I found it at a garden store and cut it into smaller pieces.  One liner for a large planter provided enough liner for six hanging plants and cost about $24.00.

First I cut out a piece of the liner and loosely fitted it around the plant.  Then I stitched it to fit it around the plant using a thick needle. I wasn’t concerned with making the stitches particularly neat since they’d hardly show.

Next I tied a piece of twine around the middle of the planter liner and then wrapped twine (rather unscientifically) around the entire bottom of the plant to form a round base.  Next I tied twine to the top of the base to hang the plant.


Hanging Moss Plants

For the second method I used potted moss.  For these planters, I took two moss plants and removed a good bit of the soil from the bottom of each and then sandwiched them together.

Next I wrapped the pieces together with twine like I did with the coconut husks, forming it into as much of a sphere as possible.  I made sure the leave a space at the top to insert a plant.

After inserting the plant, I tied twine to the top of the base to hang the plants to finish it off.

It took me about three hours to make and hang nine of these little buddies around the porch and the backyard. Totally worth it. Seriously, I am in love.

For more posts like this one, check out the Domesticity Page.

most photos by Shawn Poynter.


5 Responses to “Make a Hanging Garden”

  1. Anonymous August 27, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    How did you make the one with the yellow/oragish mesh around it?

  2. mackeyda August 29, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    That’s actually a crocheted bird ball– it’s filled with wool that birds can use to make nests.

  3. Anonymous September 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I’m going to make these for my parents…. I love them! Thanks for sharing this great idea :-)

  4. Christie September 29, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Hey, so I have seen these around the web a bit and decided to make my own the other weekend and only about a week later did ALL OF THEM die! I was trying desperately hard to water them with a spray bottle, but none of the water seemed to be able to permeate the soil and keep them moist. Have you had this problem? I LOVE the look of them, but I can’t seem to figure out how to keep the plants watered and alive.

    Let me know how yours are doing and if you’ve had any trouble keeping them watered. Thanks!

  5. Dale September 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Did you use moss or coconut husks? I found the husks were better for keeping water, and that the larger did better than the smaller. Two of mine died, but the leafy ones are all doing great. It may depend on the kind of plant. When we had a really hot period, I would actually get a pitcher or water and soak them in it for a few seconds.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

