Halloween Costumes Past

28 Oct

Since we began dating, Shawn and I have stumbled into a charming (disturbing?) tradition of wearing costumes that involve one of us trying to destroy the other.  In the event you and a buddy or sweetheart are looking for last minute costumes for Halloween, here are a few we’ve done over the years.

Pinata and Overzealous Child

For the pinata, we actually purchased a pinata and cut the head off of it and fashioned it into kind of a hat with stables and ribbon. We then took a painters’ suit, multicolored streamers and painters tape and tapes horizontal rows of streamers around the suit, and cut fringes into the streamers by snipping horizontally.  For the child, I just wore a little party dress & sombrero and carried around a plastic bat.  This costume is VERY fun for the person dressed the child (and potentially hazardous for the person dressed as the pinata).

Shawn = very good sport

Tree and Lumberjack

To make the tree costume, I took and old skirt and cheap bustier-type thing and wrapped them in wood grain contact paper, which I wore over a brown turtleneck and leggings.  I found some decorative fake birds, nests, butterflies and vines and wrapped them around my arms and torso.  I then spray painted my hair green and pinned some birds& butterflies in it for good measure.

The lumberjack is easy.  Shawn wore some khakis, a flannel shirt, an ear flap hat and then gave himself a fake beard and carried around a little chainsaw.

Terrifying.

Tree hair.

Bed Bug Infestation and Exterminator

For this, I took a night shirt and sewed the little orange spider rings you can get everywhere around Halloween time all over it.  I wore it over pantyhose that I’d polka dotted with a red marker to look like bug bites.  I also made earrings out of them and attached them to a stuffed bear from a thrift shop.  I got a big orange bug doll and attached it to a headband for a spooky little fascinator.  The best part?  I got to wear pajamas and slippers all night.

Shawn got a hooded painter’s suit, a surgical mask and carried around a sprayer nozzle in a backpack.

Bed Bugz.

11 Responses to “Halloween Costumes Past”

  1. katie October 28, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    One of my friends just told me about a group costume that you can appreciate…Dexter and his victims. Sounds like something for next year! :)

  2. Laurie Marshall (@punkinheadNWA) October 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Awesome! Love the pinata… The only year we both dressed up for a party he was a rock star and I was his groupie. I think he kinda liked the racoon eyes and combat boots look I was sporting… :)

  3. Adrianna October 28, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    My boyfriend is going to be Captain Ahab and I’m going to be Moby Dick this Halloween. He will be chasing me around with a harpoon all night while I taunt him with a fake severed leg. I can’t wait :)

  4. Anonymous October 28, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    My husband is going to be Bob Ross and I’m going to be his “happy tree”! :)

  5. Heather Oppor October 28, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    My boyfriend and I are going as He Man and She Ra…except I realized a little too late that according to Saturday morning cartoons…we’re now brother and sister – ewwwwww!

  6. Anonymous October 28, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    My partner and I went as an upper and lower G.I. once. I wore fatigue pant’s and combat boots and he wore the top, dog tags and a hat.

  7. KL October 29, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    We are going as Peter Frampton before and after. I have long blond hair, and he has gray hair…and not much of it.

  8. Anonymous October 29, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    These are great

  9. knitnlady October 29, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    We went as a priest and a hooker one year!

  10. Kami October 30, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    My husband uses a wheelchair so thinking up good costumes is challenging. One year we dressed him up like a trauma patient and I was his naughty nurse. The next year, he was a business man tied and gagged to his chair while I was in leather and dog collars wielding a whip. ;)

  11. Anonymous October 30, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    One of my favorites was Milkman and 50′s housewife.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

