Make Cold Cream

3 Nov

I’m on a roll with the apothecary this week…

When I was young, I thought cold cream was something old ladies used before face soap was invented.  Then I started doing theatre and I realized that those old ladies are all GENIUSES.  Cold cream is a great cleanser that doesn’t dry your face out like soap, which is a godsend when your putting the skin-raping goop that is theatre make-up on your face every day for weeks.  Though I’m not doing much theatre these days, when I saw a recipe for a gentle skin-cleanser in Make Your Place, I thought I’d try it out for a good winter cleanser that won’t dry my face up.

Creamy Lavender Cleanser

  • 3 oz jojoba oil
  • 3 oz vegetable glycerine
  • 3 oz cornstarch
  • 5 drops lavender oil

Combine all three in a bowl and stir vigorously until smooth and creamy.  I transferred mine to an old spice jar I’d run through the dishwasher. To use, rub some into your skin, wipe off with a washcloth and rinse well.  It’s easy to rinse off and won’t leave a layer of slime on your skin.  Awesome!

For more recipes like this one, check out the Apothecary page.

 

2 Responses to “Make Cold Cream”

  1. Anonymous December 20, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    I’m making this exact recipe but no matter what I do, there seems to be a thin oil layer…is this normal? I stirred in a bowl and used a food processor.

  2. mackeyda December 20, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Yes, I’ve found mine separated a little, too. I dumped out the top layer and use it now whether it separates or not. My skin is pretty dry and not prone to acne, though, so it can take a lot of moisture/oil.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

