Pick a Roadside Bouquet

15 Jun

Last weekend I walked for the grocery store down Central Street, a scruffy Knoxville thoroughfare that’s got plenty of charm and quirkiness, but not a whole lot of natural beauty (for more on Central Street, check out my sweetheart’s photo spread).  As I was walking home, I kept noticing all kinds of flowers growing up from sidewalk cracks and in empty lots.  I decided to challenge myself to see if I could make a bouquet by the time I reached my home, using only rogue flowers and plants.  It was fun to notice these lovely things growing along a street I drive down twice a day, and reminds me sometimes it’s best to take the slow way.

One Response to “Pick a Roadside Bouquet”

  1. silverfinofhope June 15, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    There are so many flowers on that end of town! I work on Broadway, and we have a huge vine of wild orchids growing on the chain link fence…they’re also growing all up and down Baxter on the way to the co-op. It reminds me of the children’s book “The Curious Garden”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

