Make Tomato Butter

5 Oct

Although I didn’t get it together to do much gardening this summer, as evidenced by the sad little cucumber plant that’s been languishing since mid-June, many of my friends did, and towards the end of the summer I got to enjoy the literal fruits of their labors as they’ve dropped off the last of the season’s bounty.  All at once, I had a bunch of tomatoes that demanded to be used in a short amount of time.  I sliced them and ate them raw, I broiled them and put them over pasta, I incorporated them into fried pies, and still there were some left.  I remembered a recipe I’d seen for tomato butter somewhere, but couldn’t find it, so I decided to approximate it on my own.

This mixture of butter, tomatoes, garlic and salt is de-freaking-licious.  You can spread it on toasted bread for a tomatoey garlic bread, you can add a teaspoon to cooked pasta, meat, fish or veggies for flavor, or you can sauté just about anything you’d want to sauté in it.  It’s easy and versatile and I highly recommend it.

melted tomato butter on bread

Tomato Butter

In a food processor, pulse 1 stick of butter, 1 chopped tomato, 2 cloves of garlic and salt to taste.

 

For more recipes like this one, check out the Domesticity Page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

