Away We Go

7 Apr

This weekend I went to see “Sunshine Cleaning,” a semi-entertaining/semi-disappointing quirky little comedy from the sunshine-loving makers of “Little Miss Sunshine.”  Before the movie, we saw this preview:

At first I thought it might be a remake of the 1967 version of “Away We Go”:

513rf3fr3bl_sl500_aa240_

But sadly I was mistaken.  So here’s the thing.  I WANT to love this movie.  I heart John Krasinski in the office.  Maya Rudolph has her charms.  The supporting cast is made up of fantastic, quirky actors.  I even like the chunky Juno-esque logo.  But the whole thing looks basically like the 3o something version of Juno, complete with ridiculously quirky, insipidly witty people that seduces me into watches and then leaves me unsatisfied.  I don’t hate quirky movies and I certainly don’t hate quirky people.  Miranda July’s “You and Me and Everyone We Know” is totally of this vein of hip, quirky, whimsical, cute, artsy movies, but it’s a little darker and substantive than I fear “Away We Go” will be.  This trend of big studios producing big films with big names masquerading as indie flicks is interesting… But that being said, I really want to see this one.  I like the music in the trailer and David Eggers is one of the writers, so maybe I’m wrong in thinking it might not live up to my expectations. And so, I’ve carefully constructed this blog post to mirror the movies I’m complaining about.  It brings things up and doesn’t tie them together.  It has pretty pictures and moving images, but doesn’t really make a point.  It just wants the cool kids to like it.

2 Responses to “Away We Go”

  1. Lorin D April 8, 2009 at 1:47 am #

    Ha. As I was reading your post I was thinking that your thoughts were very uncharacteristically scattered and unconnected. I should have known it was all part of the plan.

    By the way, you’re witty and quirky and I definitely don’t hate you.

  2. Michael April 14, 2009 at 3:09 am #

    “When Hipsters get knocked up” Starring that Office dude….

Leave a Reply

