Chilaquiles

3 Jun

To you Knoxvillians that have not yet eaten at La Esperanza, the little Mexican Tienda on Whittle Springs and Washington Pike (there’s another on Chapman Highway, but I’ve not been), get yourself over there as soon as you can.  The food boasts my top three favorite characteristics: delicious, cheap and fresh. A few weeks ago, thanks to the presence of Edyael, who is fluent in spanish and so able to translate a friend’s request for an off-the-menu dish, I was able to taste their chilaquiles, an item that as I said, is not on the menu. But man, it should be.  I’d never had chilaquiles before and the memory of that meal has taunted me.  I’ve thought about going and trying to order them again, but Edyael had to do a lot of explaining when ordering, so I just don’t know that I’d be able to communicate what I want.  So last night I decided to take matters into my own hands.  I went to La Esperanza, but only to grab some corn tortillas, cilantro, limes, radishes, serrano peppers, onion and queso fresca, the only items you’ll need to make your very own chilaquiles (well, plus vegetable oil and chicken broth, but I’m assuming all my readers keep a well-stocked pantry).

DSC01617

queso fresca

TO MAKE CHILAQUILES:

Step 1:  Chop coarsely: 2 serrano peppers, 3/4 onion, 2 tomatoes, a good bunch of cilantro.  

DSC01609

Blend with salt and chicken broth until smooth.

DSC01612

Step 2:  Cut about 8 corn tortillas into 8 sections.  Fry the pieces in vegetable oil in a large cast iron skillet. You’ll have to do it in batches:

DSC01614

Step 3: If necessary, add more oil and make sure it’s very hot.  Pour in blended sauce (it will sizzle like crazy) and cook for about 7 minutes, until it doesn’t taste raw:

 

DSC01618

 

Step 4: While sauce is a-bubblin’, prepare the garnish: thinly slice about three radishes, chop another bunch of cilantro and the remaining onion, crumble some queso fresca, and cut a few limes into small pieces:

 

DSC01620

 

Step 5: Once sauce is cooked, lower heat and add tortilla pieces until they are well coated and slightly softened:

DSC01619

 

Step 6: Transfer to plate, add desired garnish.  Serve with sour cream and/or salsa verde if desired:

 

DSC01621

 

The result was pretty delicious.  Shawn said even more delicious than La Esperanza.  I don’t know if I’d go that far, but I’d recommend this recipe to anyone.  

3 Responses to “Chilaquiles”

  1. Shawns June 3, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    I want to eat this, exclusively, forever.

  2. Michael June 4, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    I want to go to there…

  3. Kate June 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Next time make it with eggs, it’s a breakfast dish after all.

Leave a Reply

