Pretty Things

15 Jun

A few years ago I bought a small dictionary from the early 1900’s for no good reason other than it was small and charming.  I happened upon it recently and decided it was a good candidate for my first altered book project. Unfortunately, as I started to work on it, I realized it was a little too old and a little too fragile for this.  I painted a little picture on the cover, but the pages were too fragile and couldn’t turn without ripping out of their binding.

 

So instead, I started drawing on the pages as they tore themselves loose.  I started drawing at around 8 pm on Friday night and I’m pretty sure I didn’t stop until near midnight.  I started choosing a word from each page of the dictionary and making a little drawing of that word on the page.  It’s the perfect creative project for me- easy, not messy, and instantly gratifying. Here are some of my favorites:

 

A is for artichoke.

A is for artichoke.

A is for atom.

A is for atom.

B is for bat.

B is for bat.

B is for barbed wire.

B is for barbed wire.

C is for crab.

C is for crab.

C is for caterpillar.

C is for caterpillar.

I’ve only gotten through C so far, but at this rate, it won’t take me long to make it though the whole wide alphabet…

5 Responses to “Pretty Things”

  1. Michael June 15, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    These are very nice! A friend of mine use to use old books as a sketchbook. I wish I had images of them, they were supercool.

  2. Liz June 15, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    I likey. Put a few together, put a frame around it and I’ll buy it from you. Yay!

  3. Lorin D June 15, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    i LOVE them. also, it looks like the artichoke is smiling at me.

  4. kimberlysawczuk June 17, 2009 at 4:25 am #

    I love them, especially the crab!!! Looks like a fun night, plan on doing more??? ;c)

  5. Kate June 27, 2009 at 1:33 am #

    Dale, I don’t remember you being such a good sketcher. (This is a compliment.)

Leave a Reply

