More Talented Than I Am: Deb Sokolow

19 Jun

I first saw Deb Sokolow’s drawings at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago several years ago.  I don’t remember what the show was, but I know hers was the piece that most interested me.

 

On display was a huge drawing called “Someone tell Mayor Daley the pirates are coming.” There was so much I loved about this piece– the sprawling diagrams, the hilarious and dark display of paranoia, and the childlike approach to solving the problem of pirates in Chicago.  I’ve found myself remembering this piece as I’ve been listening to story after story on the radio of real life pirates, so I thought I should share with you. Below are a few details of the pirate piece.  Visit Sokolow’s website to look at more of her work.

AOkHL05IV898ExKQZ2wiwNhfGTIvCv7B

Leave a Reply

