Ramune

24 Jun

Have you heard of Ramune?  I hadn’t until a few years ago when my cousin, who would later go on to study abroad in Japan, told me of this magical Japanese soda.  It’s special because it’s sealed with a marble that you push into the soda bottle, which then rattles around during and after your consumption of the soda.  

the marble

the marble

My cousin’s description sparked my interest, but I’d not had the stuff myself until last night, when I picked some up at an Asian market while shopping for ingredients for this delicious hot and sour soup recipe.  I bought peach flavor.  The verdict? It tastes like carbonated peach candy. And there’s a marble in the bottle. So, not bad.

Leave a Reply

