Make Some Art

6 Aug

Cost: around $25

Time: a few hours

Materials: old book, black pen/marker, colored markers/paints/pens, frame

Recently I started drawing pictures on an old dictionary I bought at a flea market years ago.  They’ve turned out pretty well:

It was easy to do, so I thought I’d share the simple (obvious) steps I took to make them with you all and also share the framed finished pieces I created from the drawings.

Step 1: Buy an old book.  A dictionary is great if you don’t know what to draw because you can simply choose a word on the page and draw that.  Easy.

Step 2: Using a good quality black pen or marker, raw whatever you desire.  Perhaps I shouldn’t admit this, but once I chose a word from the dictionary page, I simply google that word and choose an image I like from the results.  Because of my unique drawing style (read: limited drawing skills), the finished images always look totally different from the photograph.

Step 3: If you wish, color the image in. Again, maybe I shouldn’t admit this, but I almost always use crayola washable markers. Downside: They fade and there is a limited color selection.  Upside: They don’t damage the fragile paper and the limited colors force me into unique color choices and combinations.

Step 4: Lay your finished pages on the ground and see which ones work together.  Think about color, shape, and subject.  Form them into groups of two or more.  You can frame them separately, of course, but I think they look best in groups. 

Step 5:  Find some inexpensive (or hell, if you’re rich, expensive) frames.  It’s easiest if they already have a mat but cheaper if you do the matting yourself (or not at all).  If your book is as old as mine, you’ll need to put cardstock behind the pages to allow for tears and holes.

That’s it.  Below are some of my favorites.  You can see more here and BUY some at my etsy shop or by contacting me directly (and if you know me you get the super low cheapy cheap family and friends discount).

 


4 Responses to “Make Some Art”

  1. Liz August 6, 2009 at 8:56 pm #

    I think I want some of these but yer etsy shop is being weird. I want to see what you still got!

  2. mackeyda August 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Ooops. I’m revamping it now, so the stuff may not be showing. All of the framed dictionary pictures in the art section are still available. I didn’t put up any of the ones that sold. Etsy page should be up soon! Also if you want to mix and match specific drawings that you like, it can be done, my dear!

  3. Liz August 6, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Cool thanks!

  4. kimberlysawczuk August 10, 2009 at 5:08 am #

    I would totally buy that crab!!! HAHA, I don’t know why I like him so much…let’s just say I think he has mega-PERSONALITY!!! ;o)

    I just learned I’m terribly allergic to seafood.

    But I still want that crab. Let me know if he’s for sale…

    Kimsterann@aol.com

    P.S. ((((BIG HUGS BEAUTIFUL DALE))))

Leave a Reply

