Draw Your Feet

13 Aug

Cost: Nothing if you already have something to write on and something to write with

Time: Minutes

Materias: Journal or paper, pen or pencil

Those of you that know me well know that I’m always writing something down, usually in a bound book of some sort.  I’m always self-conscious about the word “journal” because it sounds either super-pretentious or super hippy-guru-self-helpy and while maybe I do possess a little of both those traits, that’s not quite the image I want to project to the world.  But fine, I’m always journalling.  I’m also drawing much of the time, which makes me sound like a serious fine artist. I assure you I’m not.  I can’t draw from memory and I don’t love drawing from photographs, so most often I draw what’s around me.  Maybe that’s the reason for the trend I recently noticed as I was flipping through my old journals: I’m always drawing feet.  Below, I’ve assembled a gallery of some of (yes, just SOME OF) the feet drawings in my journals over the years.

If you’re a journaler and get stuck for things to put in it, I highly suggest you pick something that you always have on your person you can easily (and appropriately) look at wherever you are. Trying drawing it at least once a day for at least a week.  Send me your results!

One Response to “Draw Your Feet”

  1. Ellis Greer August 24, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    Whoa, Dale, that’s a lot of feet. I’ve got to keep a sketchbook for my two studio art classes this semester, so I’ll keep your tips in mind.

Leave a Reply

