One Year In Knoxville

18 Aug

This past weekend marked my one year anniversary in Knoxville, which has been arguably the best year of my little life so far. You may not believe me when I say that (almost) no day goes by when I don’t think about how happy and lucky I am, but I assure you that it’s true.  In this year, I’ve made fabulous friends, had so much fun, started building a home with the best partner I could ask for, and been able to accomplish things that make me genuinely proud.  But enough of the gushing.  Below I present a list of my top ten favorite things to do in Knoxville. Pardon me if they seem obvious, but these were what came to mind.

Sunsphere77828484

  1. Eating good and cheap. My favorite reasonably priced, super delicious places: Hong Kong House, King Tut’s and La Esperanza
  2. The Sunsphere. Where else can you drink in what looks like a giant disco ball on stilts? 
  3. Make and see art. Sure, I sometimes wish there were more exciting art and theatre and cultural events going on, but there’s quite a bit and it’s easy to get involved. So far, my favorites include the Clarence Brown Theatre, Tennessee Stage Company, and the Florescent Gallery
  4. Toot’s. I have a love/hate relationship with Toot’s.  I’ve met so many great friends there, but oh how I hate smelling like a boozey ashtray on Sunday mornings.
  5. Working out at the downtown YMCA. Another love/hate relationship.  It’s a nice facility and I really enjoy working out there, but membership is kinda pricey.
  6. Ijams. I should definitely hike more than I do, but it always seems like such a huge ordeal. For those of us that can’t always muster the energy for a trip to the Smoky’s Ijams and Meades Quarry are lovely places to commune with nature and go on a stroll.
  7. Market Square and Free Parking. How many cities of our size offer free and easy parking in several garages during nights and weekends?  Not many my friends?  And a pedestrian mall is a terrible thing to take for granted.
  8. Rivers and Lakes. With the recent purchase of Shawn’s canoe, we’ve been able to enjoy the Holston River Park, Norris Lake, the Clinch River, and several other of Knoxville’s many area lakes, streams and rivers. 
  9. Downtown West Theatre. Great selection of movies.
  10. Margaritas. Senor Taco offers 2 for 1 margaritas Mondays and Tuesdays. La Costa makes the tastiest in town.
2 Responses to “One Year In Knoxville”

  1. Knox Animal August 28, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    Awesome! Glad you love Knoxville as much as I do. I moved here from DC about 9 years ago and have never thought about leaving.

  2. Sheri October 15, 2009 at 3:14 am #

    Thanks for the pointers! I am preparing to move to Knoxville later this year. It seems as though the art scene is up and coming. This makes me happy! I’m coming from Colorado Springs where art involves hanging antlers above the fireplace and paintings of mountains. I’m looking forward to heading that way!

Leave a Reply

