Make a List for Rainy Days

21 Sep

The Knoxville forecast calls for rain every day this week.  I fear that the lazy, ho-hum mood I’ve been in for the past couple of days will only be amplified by the dreary weather.  So to arm myself against the doldrums, I’ve compiled a list of ways to enjoy the rainy days.  Here’s mine.  What’s on your rainy day list?

  • Enjoy an indoor event.  If you’re in Knoxville, I recommend getting tickets to Yo La Tengo at the Bijou tomorrow.
  • Watch TV or a movie. I recommend the first season of Californication.
  • Have a tasting.  Buy several kinds of cheese or chocolates or jellybeans, whatever strikes your fancy, and organize a blind tasting to figure out which you like the best.
  • Take care of household chores you’ve been putting off.  I’ll be working on paring down our kitchenware and organizing my craftin’ space this week.
  • Make a project.  If you like to sew, knit, decoupage, screen print, or paint, give yourself a new assignment.  Or check out Design*Sponge’s DIY project gallery.
  • Draw the inside of your house.  When was the last time you really looked at your medicine cabinet or work desk? Taking time to draw the things you look at every day can sometimes make you appreciate things you’ve come to take for granted.
  • Make dinner. We just bought some fresh figs and goat cheese, so I’m planning on making this: 

    Fig Salad with Goats Milk Yogurt and Pepper Cress

    Fig Salad with Goat's Milk Yogurt and Pepper Cress

  • Play a board game.  My favorites include Apples to Apples, Scattegories and Wise or Otherwise. Or, if you feel like getting crafty and you’re a smart ass like my friends and I, make your own version of Cards Against Humanity, like Apples to Apples, but  a little wilder.
  • Bake something!  I might try my hand at these this week: 

    Raspberry Chocolate French Macaroons

    Raspberry Chocolate French Macaroons

  • Shop online.  Sometimes all it takes is a little purchase to pep you up. Check out Etsy for the coolest wares on the internet.
    Carambatack Designs Red Umbrella Print

    Carambatack Design's Red Umbrella Print

Leave a Reply

