Draw Something Every Day

30 Sep

Cost: Nothing

Time: 5 minutes each day

Materials:  Monthly calendar, pens

 

If you know me, it’s no secret I’m a lover of ritual and habit.  Something about predictable and recurring events makes me feel all cozy and happy and stable.  One of my most recent daily rituals has been drawing a small picture each day in the box corresponding to the current day on my desk calendar.  Because I’m at work, most of my drawings are of pens, keys, headphones and stacks of paper, which are perhaps a little dull individually, but look pretty neat come the last day of the month.  I highly suggest making your calendar into something a little more exciting.  Starting tomorrow, I’m going to change it up a little and write a haiku in every box.  Because we all know there aren’t enough haikus in the world. 

Photo 4

2 Responses to “Draw Something Every Day”

  1. Francine Fein October 1, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    I love this site. I linked to it through Craig’s List and immediately bookmarked it. You’ve inspired me to pick up a pencil again….mostly I’ve been creating art on my computer (because that’s where I am most of the time). I wrestle with whether computer aided art is “art” …

  2. mackeyda October 1, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    If you’re making it, it’s art. At least that’s how I see it. I’m glad you found the site and even more glad it’s inspired you to draw a little more.

Leave a Reply

