Eat Differently

7 Oct

Cost: Nothing

Time: Minimal

Matierials: Food

Forgive me folks.  This might get a little cheesy.  Yesterday when I got home from work I was famished. The only thing I could find that I wanted to eat was a grapefruit.  So I got out a knife and was about to cut the grapefruit in half because this, my friends, is how I (and probably you) have always eaten grapefruit.  I cut it in half, stick it in a bowl, and jab the sections out with a spoon.  But before I cut my grapefruit, I thought, “I don’t feel like jamming out these sections with a spoon.”  So instead I peeled it.

Peeling it gave me a whole new grapefruit experience.  I first tasted the bitter white pith I hadn’t managed to totally peel away from the outside of the fruit. Once I bit into it, I got a burst of juice, unlike I do when the sections are already severed before I ever take a bite.  The essential taste of the grapefruit was the same, but the experience was different.  It made me pay attention to what I was eating, which is something I’d like to do more of.

I suggest you eat something in a different way today. Cut apples into fries. Freeze a banana and make iced cream out of it. Do something different. Pay attention.

One Response to “Eat Differently”

  1. Lorin D October 8, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    i always eat grapefruits this way and people think i’m weird. i guess they’re right.

Leave a Reply

