Whitney Misch’s Diverse Sketches

15 Oct

Whitney Misch is an artist whose sketchbook I’m delighted to share with you.  You can see more of his work at his website.  His words and images are below and in the journal gallery.

“I use my sketchbook for two main purposes. On the one hand, I use it for observational drawing from life. In this regard I am using it as a learning tool. Observing nature, and trying to capture it. On the other hand, I also use it as a creative tool by drawing from my imagination. This is good for trying to call back what you learned from life, and stretch your imagination.

For my observational drawing, I prefer to use pen. Since you cannot erase, you are forced to slow down, look closer, and draw just one line. In some ways, though, the first few lines can be heart wrenching – as they are so critical in determining the scale and composition of the whole piece. For most of my imaginative drawings, I use pencil. I require the flexibility of erasing in order to come up with something interesting. i also like to play around with light and shadow, which requires the value range of pencil. I try to stay away from values in my life drawing because that is better understood/captured by life painting.”

One Response to “Whitney Misch’s Diverse Sketches”

  1. Michael October 23, 2009 at 4:50 am #

    These. Are. Awesome.
    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

