Katie Schmid’s BeautifulFunnySadSweet Journal

3 Nov

I have friends that refuse to use Facebook because they’re sure it will somehow take the place of real social interaction, that they will forgo actually seeing their friends to spend hours looking at their Halloween photos on Facebook.  As someone who just spent the better part of an hour looking at friends’ Halloween photos on Facebook, I can confidently say it’s possible to have the best of both worlds. Facebook can be great for fostering friendships with acquaintances you might not otherwise interact with much, for easily communicating with large groups of people and for keeping in touch with lovely people who might otherwise slip from your world without you even noticing.

Katie Schmid and I went to high school together, acted in plays together and sometimes ran around with the same crowd during the weekends, but once we went away to college we didn’t really keep in touch.  Until Facebook came along and we happily friended each other.  Since then it’s been lovely to periodically and see what she’s up to- now she’s in China hiking the Great Wall, now she’s having a quirky dinner party with friends, now she’s in Wyoming studying poetry (her poem “Jobs” is featured in Best New Poets 2009: 50 Poems from Emerging Writers, a copy of which I just purchased myself).  Now she’s created beautiful journals, which I’m delighted to share with you. Katie’s pictures and words are below.  And of course, take a peek at the ever-growing journal gallery.  

” My new journal (the actual book) is by Jill Bliss, who does these beautiful flower journals that I love. Both of the journals [featured here] are primarily filled with drawings I did while I was in China for a few months in 2007, and then again when I was in China for five months in 2008/9. Some things: [the “I jizzed on your cat card” is] from when my boyfriend and I decided that we needed to fulfill a heretofore untapped niche in the greeting card industry: the morning-after-a-one-night-stand card. We called our card company “Ballmark: when you care enough to send the almost-best.” I drew, he helped with the concepts… The rest of the drawings are from my time in China (and right before I left for China, and also right after I came back from China). This period of my journaling was during a time when I was living an intensely interior life: I was not working and had a lot of time on my hands to think, and feel insecure, and draw, draw, draw, as well as write poems. I also like to draw women, and enjoy bubble letters.”

Leave a Reply

