Write a Note to a Stranger

30 Nov



I dare you..!

Originally uploaded by Crazy Princess

This is dorky: I have a pack of index cards on which I’ve written little dares for myself– “start a new piece of writing,” “try a new restaurant,”leave a book you love in a public place for someone to pick up,” things like that. They are, for the most part, not particularly daring, but they are fun. I’ll pull a dare and once it’s completed, I’ll pull a new one, and so on. FOREVER.

Fitting in perfect synchronicity with last week’s compliments post, I recently pulled “leave a note for a stranger.” This one is a little daring and also sort of creepy, but the perfect situation arose last week when I was pumping gas and a man on a sweet old motorcycle with a matching helmet covered in stickers pulled up next to me and went in to pay. The bike was cool, but of course he must get compliments on it all the time. It was the helmet that stuck with me. So I pulled out a scrap of receipt, scribbled “I like your helmet. -D” and left it on the seat of his bike and drove away before he returned. It was thrilling I actually giggled as I was driving away.

One Response to “Write a Note to a Stranger”

  1. Linds April 8, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    Again….I really love this!

Leave a Reply

