Perky Jerky

11 Jan

I found this caffeinated beef jerky via Cool Hunting and had to try it.  Why?  Because it’s CAFFEINATED BEEF JERKY, you fool. It’s not the best beef jerky I’ve ever had, but it’s far from the worst.  It’s super chewy, not tough at all and has a nice, mellow taste.  I keep thinking I taste some weird, caffeine-flavored top notes, but I think that’s in my head. I’d say it’s some of the best non-small-local-farm beef jerky I’ve had. And you know what?  I do feel a little buzz…

One Response to “Perky Jerky”

  1. Liz January 11, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I don’t think it’s in your head. I think the guarana (which supplies the caffeine I think) has a slightly bitter flavor that contrasts nicely (in my opinion) with the sweetness of the other flavorings (bbq? teriyaki?). It is good jerky, and, you’re right, nice and chewy. One thing, though, whether it’s the guarana/caffeine or just the way they make it, this jerky is super salty. I wouldn’t recommend eating it without a bottle of water handy. I will also say that the “buzziness” is kind of untested for me. I was able to bully through an episode of extreme sleepiness while driving from Knoxville to BG, but it’s up in the air whether it was the Perky Jerky or the 5-hour energy shot or the multiple other energy drinks I consumed. Final grade for taste: B+/A- (a few points off for excessive saltiness). Final grade for texture: A. Final grade for buzz: more data are needed.

Leave a Reply

