Go to the Nearest Drive-In

11 Apr

photo by Shawn Poynter. on his iPhone.

Cost: $5-10

Time: 2-6 hours, depending on number of features and distance to nearest drive-in

The first official drive-in movie theatre opened in Camden, New Jersey in 1933.  They increased in number, size and scope until they hit their peak in 1958, when there were almost 5,000 drive-ins throughout the United States.  Drive-ins started dwindling in the 60’s and 70’s, but with the advent of cable and the VCR in 1980’s, drive-ins were dropping like flies.  Today the number of drive-ins hovers between 500 and 800 (differing sources tell me different things).

I remember going to my first drive-in in 1992 (I am able to verify this by looking up the year the Death Becomes Her, the movie we watched that faithful night, came out. and am not sure I ever went to one again, but it left quite an impression on me. It was magical to do something you usually reserve for inside out of doors. I loved it, but I forgot about drive-ins for a long time. I recently decided to look for open drive-ins nearby by and found that the Parkway Drive-In is just 30 minutes away.  We went, champagne in cans and money for jalapeno cheddar poppers in tow, and watched Alice in Wonderland outside. Lovely.

Google your closest drive-in.  Pack a snack and a blanket.  Get there a little early and watch the sun go down and the kids play kickball before the movie begins.  Trust me. It’s worth it.

One Response to “Go to the Nearest Drive-In”

  1. mickayla April 21, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    this just made me so homesick. and not just knoxville-sick… full on america-sick.

Leave a Reply

