Cocktail of the Week: The June Bug

27 Apr

Brace yourselves.  I made this one up.  I decided to try a new cocktail tonight since I just got a new bitter sampler from Urban Moonshine.  It included original, citrus and maple bitters in beautiful little bottles with eye-dropper tops.  I’m most intrigued by the maple bitters.

So I tried a recipe I’ve been eyeing for awhile, substituting the maple bitters for the ubiquitous Angostura bitters and just wasn’t digging it.  I’m not sure if the maple flavor threw off the whole shebang (a mixture of gin, apricot brandy and lemon juice) or what, but it had a sharp, odd taste that I didn’t like at all.  I hate to let a cocktail go to waste, so I opened the fridge to see if there was something I might add to make it a little more pleasant and there I saw the tiny bit of leftover tea I’d made this day before (this time with ginger peach black tea and lemon-thyme simple syrup).  Peach tea, peach brandy- it made sense.  And oh, it’s delicious.

The June Bug

2 oz. gin

1 oz. peach brandy

1/2 oz. fresh lemon juice

4 drops maple bitters

3 oz. iced tea

Shake well with ice. Strain and serve.

Leave a Reply

