Make Breakfast for Someone You Love

10 May

This is a friendly reminder to eat your breakfast, as we all know by now that it’s the most important meal of the day.  So make yourself something yummy, and while you’re at it, make something for someone else.

Every morning I wake up and think about what I’m going to eat.  It’s not that I’m hungry, per se, it’s just that never in my waking hours do I go that long without eating.  It’s usually just a granola bar or some yogurt, but lately I’ve been trying to actually make myself something more substantial.  I’m starting on the weekends and hoping the habit will spread to the weekdays.

A few weeks ago I introduced Shawn to something my mom used to make for us.  She called it “eggy-in-a-hole,” but I’ve also heard it referred to as egg in a basket, or egg in a boat or egg in a nest.  Basically, it’s a piece of buttered bread with a hole cut in the middle.  You put the bread in a hot buttered pan, then crack an egg into the hole and fry it until the bottom is set.  Flip and let the other side cook and you’ve got eggy-in-a-hole.  I’ve been trying to eat a little healthier, so while I made Shawn an eggy-in-the-hole, I sauteed some garlic and spinach in olive oil, poured  one egg with and a little grated cheese and salt and pepper over the whole thing, and made a spinach scramble.

A Very Important Meal

Leave a Reply

