Cucumber, Cocktails, Celery, Soda

8 Jun

This Sunday I made Agua Fresca de Pepino, a sweet cucumber juice with a little spicy kick.  It was delicious and fairly easy- peel and chop some cucumbers, squeeze a few limes, add a bit of sugar and jalepeno, blend, strain and drink!

Because I liked it so much, I immediately went back to the store, bought enough cucumbers for a double recipe, whipped up a double batch, poured it into a cleaned 2 L soda bottle, added 1/b t of yeast, and waited 24 hours for it to carbonate.

Naturally, I wanted to see what kind of cocktail I could whip up with my delicious new soda, so taking stock of what we had in the house, I added 1 oz. Cachaça, another squeeze of lime, and had a refreshing little cocktail on my hands.

On a related note, I was recently told I should try Brown’s Celery Soda because of my love for cucumber water, cucumber juice and now cucumber soda.  I found some on the drive from Chicago to Knoxville after Memorial Day weekend at the Louisville Liquor Barn (sounds sketchy, I know, but it’s an amazing place with a fantastic selection of libations and tasty vittles) and I have this to report- delicious!  It’s pretty sweet, but it’s got a subtle green taste and would go very well with spicy food.  If you see some, I suggest you pick it up and give it a try.

One Response to “Cucumber, Cocktails, Celery, Soda”

  1. Casey June 8, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Girl, cucumber cocktails are some of my favorites in the summer. All week I’ve been drinking tequila-cucumber highballs:

    Muddle cucumbers, lime juice, and simple syrup in the bottom of a glass, add ice and top with tequila and a dash of Angostura bitters if ya got ’em. It is soooo good.

    Also try a Pimm’s cup for cucumber-y goodness.

Leave a Reply

