Cocktail of the Week: Watermelon Margaritas

28 Jul

To celebrate the very talented Marshall Ruffin’s concert at my friend Lila’s house tonight, I decided to make watermelon margaritas.  Naturally, I had to taste the concoction before serving it to others and perhaps it was the delicious combination of watermelon, triple sec, lime and tequila that caused me to lock my keys in my car right before leaving.

I figured I might as well post the recipe as I wait for the locksmith.  Don’t worry- I’ll still make it to the concert on time.  And these margaritas are worth the $30 I’ll spend in locksmith fees.

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 lime wedge
  • 3 1/2 cups cubed seeded watermelon
  • 1/2 cup tequila
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon triple sec (orange-flavored liqueur)
  • Lime wedges (optional)

Directions

  1. Place 2 teaspoons sugar in a saucer. Rub rims of 6 glasses with 1 lime wedge; spin rim of each glass in sugar to coat. Set prepared glasses aside. Combine watermelon and next 4 ingredients (watermelon through triple sec) in a blender; process until smooth. Fill each prepared glass with 1/2 cup crushed ice. Add 1/2 cup margarita to each glass. Garnish each glass with a lime wedge, if desired. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

