Open Road Project: Good fortune at Barbara Lee’s Kitchen in Louisville, KY

10 Aug

When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road somewhere along the way. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.

I left stanza two at Barbara Lee’s Kitchen in Louisville, Kentucky.  We got into town late and after a visit with some friends, Shawn, our host Brett and I decided we needed some grub.  After a failed attempt at pizza, we ended up at Barbara Lee’s Kitchen, a diner like every other diner open at midnight on a Thursday.  I wrote the stanza on a $20 bill and paid for our late-night dinner with said bill. I had a BLT. Brett and Shawn had burgers.

Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-fortune,
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing,
Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criticisms,
Strong and content I travel the open road.

Check out where the poem’s been on Everlater and follow it’s route stanza by stanza at the Open Road page.

One Response to “Open Road Project: Good fortune at Barbara Lee’s Kitchen in Louisville, KY”

  1. Wes Abplanalp August 15, 2010 at 3:53 am #

    2 blocks from my house! Joe & Lora should have had you stop in!

Leave a Reply

