Open Road Project: Sufficient Spirits in Chicago, IL

10 Aug

When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road somewhere along the way. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.

I left stanza three at at In Fine Spirits, a lovely bar and spirits shop in Andersonville. In addition to leaving the note on one of the store postcards, we bought a bottles of whiskey, Herbsaint, some Vihno Verde, two delicious cocktails and a glass of hand-pumped cask ale.  If you find yourself in the Andersonville area and like fancy yuppy cocktails, I highly suggest you stop by.  Brush up on cool indie music before you go- Shawn got his beer free for recognizing Beulah playing when we walked in.

The earth, that is sufficient,
I do not want the constellations any nearer,
I know they are very well where they are,
I know they suffice for those who belong to them.

Check out where the poem’s been on Everlater and follow it’s route stanza by stanza at the Open Road page.

Leave a Reply

