Cocktail of the Week: Violet Soda

25 Aug

Before you read this, check out the Dale Sale!

I first tried Creme de Violette early this summer, when I ordered it online after reading about it in a vintage cocktail book and not being able to find it here in Knoxville.  When I first tasted it (out of the bottle as soon as it arrived, of course), I wasn’t crazy about it, comparing it to a flowery cough syrup.  I can now confidently say I spoke too soon.  It’s quite concetrated and so abrasive on its own, but pair it with soda water, champage, ginger ale and various other spirits and it adds a magical and flowery-but-not-too-flowery taste when properly mixed.

One of my favorites is violet soda.  Pour club soda over ice, add Creme de Violette until the drink turns purple/gray (despite its deep purple color in the bottle, drinks often turn a greyish color when the Creme de Violette is added, but I promise they’ll still be tasty) twist a lemon peel over the drink and drop it in.  Easy, light and lovely.

2 Responses to “Cocktail of the Week: Violet Soda”

  1. flappergirlcreations August 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Damn, that sounds delicious!

  2. R Fizzy August 27, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I love you so much. I didn’t really like Creme de Violette the first time I tried it either — something about it tastes like eating soap. But maybe I’ll try this because it sounds great.

    I miss youuuu. You have no idea how happy I get in the two seconds before I click on the link to your blog.

Leave a Reply

