Open Road: Rows of Houses in Bowling Green, OH

9 Sep

When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road somewhere along the way. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.

I somehow managed to leave Bowling Green without ever leaving a part of the poem in the city proper. Since this just didn’t seem right, I decided to kill two birds with one stone and send my gracious host a thank you note with the tenth stanza of the poem written on the back.

You flagg’d walks of the cities! you strong curbs at the edges!
You ferries! you planks and posts of wharves! you timber-lined
side! you distant ships!
You rows of houses! you window-pierc’d facades! you roofs!

Check out where the poem’s been on Everlater and follow its route stanza by stanza at the Open Road page.

Leave a Reply

