Dinner for One

17 Sep

I love cooking food to share with other people. I tend not to be so great, however, at making food for myself. If I’m flying solo at meal time, I often throw a frozen something or other in the microwave and call it dinner. It’s a habit I’m trying to break.

I got to practice tonight since my sweetheart’s out of town and I’m all by lonesome. I fought urges to buy a lean cuisine or eat corn tortillas and hummus for dinner and instead myself a little meal for one with food we had around the house.

The Menu:
tomato, cucumber and carrots tossed in dressing with feta cheese

Grilled okra brushed with olive oil, salt, pepper and cumin

Grilled sausage and onions

The whole thing took about 15 minutes. The hardest part was chopping tomatoes. It was decidedly more delicious than a Lean Cuisine. The best part? I made double so I have lunch for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

