Grilled Okra with Spicy Sweet Ketchup

28 Sep

I was at an artist reception at the Shady Grove Meadery a few weeks back and arrived famished.  My friend Maureen was helping to organize the event and provide refreshments and one of her contributions was grilled okra, something I’d never had before.  The only okra I’d experience previously was fried or in a gumbo or stew and this blew my earlier okra experiences out of the water.  I love okra and always have and was delighted to actually be tasting it in a dish where it wasn’t hidden under fried cornmeal or andouille sausage.  Since then, I’ve made grilled okra exactly three times and have loved it more with each batch.  Naturally, it seems only to fair to share my newly-minted recipe.

Ingredients:

1/4 C olive oil

1/2 t cumin

1/4 t smoked paprika

1 t mustard

1 t honey

1 glove garlic, finel chopped

1 pint okra, stems chopped off

1/8 C ketchup

1/8 C spicy marmalade or chutney (though I’m sorry, yours simply will not be as good as my “Hot-For-You” Hot Pepper Marmalade made by my good friend Julie)

salt and pepper to taste

Mix first six ingredients in a large bowl until combined. Add okra and mix until each piece is well coated. Heat on grill or grill pan on high heat for about 10 minutes, turning halfway through. Meanwhile, mix ketchup and marmalade in a small bowl. Remove okra from heat, season with salt and pepper.  ENJOY.

Leave a Reply

