Falafel with Lemon Tahini Sauce

2 Nov

As the days get shorter, I find myself wanting to eat boatloads of chili, get into pajamas as soon as I get home from work and spend my nights curled in a ball reading and watching movies.  It’s not even cold yet, but as the hours of daylight wane, so does my energy.  While I plan to give in to this natural dip in activity instead of fighting it like I normally do each year, I’d rather not crawl out of my couch cushion cave come spring to see that I’ve gained 50 pounds and have lost what little muscle I currently have.  So, in addition to snuggling, cuddling, reading, movie watching and stew-slurping, I plan to do some yoga and healthy cooking as well.  To get myself in the mood, I pulled out Judith B. Hurley’s Savoring the Day this week.  It’s a great book, full of recipes and wisdom for eating well and treating ailments from colds to a bad case of the blues.

“A health writer and herb expert, Hurley (The Good Herb) explains how to maximize or minimize the effects of the body’s natural rhythms through diet, exercise and aromatherapy. In Part I, she breaks the day into six parts (early morning, mid-morning, noon, mid-afternoon, evening and night), suggesting which foods, exercises and beverages make best use of the body’s natural rhythms during a particular time of day. Using grains, soy-based products and herbs, some 250 simple recipes for low-fat, predominantly vegetarian fare complement each of the body’s rhythms. Pear and Buckwheat Pancakes or a Pineapple Wake-Up Shake energize the body for the day ahead. Spicy Orange Salsa served on Pita Chips makes a great mid-afternoon pick-me-up. Black Bean Stew with Butternut Squash and Bread Pudding with Cinnamon and Apricots all help rid the body of the day’s stresses and toxins. Part II lists natural treatments (teas and essential oils) and recipes to remedy some 40 ailments ranging from colds, stomach disorders and sore muscles to jet lag, depression and hay fever.” -Publishers Weekly

I decided to whip up some Falafel with Lemon Tahini Sauce, good for sustenance and energy.  Mine turned out a little dry, but I must admit I didn’t let the patties sit overnight as the recipe directs.  They’re filling and flavorful, though, and I’ll likely make this again.

Ingredients

  • 2.5 C cooked chickpeas
  • 2 large cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • .5 t ground coriander
  • .5 t ground cumin
  • pinch of cayenne
  • pinch of ground cinnamon
  • 2 T parsley leaves
  • 1/2 cup veggie stock
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 1 T tahini
  • 1 T water
  • dash of hot pepper suace
  • 1 small cucumber, chopped
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 2 whole wheat pitas

Combine first ten ingredients (through soy sauce) in a food processor until mixture is the consistency of ground meat. Shape the mixture into four firm balls, squeezing out the moisture as you shape.  Flatten each ball into a thick patty. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

When you’re ready, preheat the broiler or prepare the frill. Coat each side of the patties with oil and broil of grill the patties until browned, about 6 minutes on each side.

Meanwhile, to make the sauce, whisk together the tahini, lemon juice, water and hot pepper sauce.  Sprinkle some cucumber and tomato into each pita half, set in a falafel patty and top with sauce and more cucumbers and tomatoes.


Leave a Reply

