Duck vs. Chicken: Ultimate Egg Showdown!

3 Nov

I bought some duck eggs at the farmer’s market on a whim last week.  They varied in size, with the littlest being slightly smaller than a small chicken egg and the largest being so large the egg carton that housed the eggs wouldn’t close fully.  They were yellowish and uneven, which sounds gross but isn’t really.  The shells seemed thin and almost translucent, but when I cracked them open they’re in reality much thicker than a chicken egg shell.

I don’t know much about the difference between duck and chicken eggs other than what I can see.  The man who sold them to me said I can use them just like chicken eggs.  A friend told me she knows pastry chefs that swear that duck eggs make better merengue.  Naturally, I felt a taste test was in order.

duck egg (left) vs. chicken egg (right)!

I decided to scramble one duck egg and one chicken egg in the exact same manner and see how the two products differed (if, indeed, they differed at all).  When I cracked each egg into its respective bowl, it became clear the duck egg might have a slight advantage- this particulary one had a double yolk!

duck egg has two yolks

I considered picking a new duck egg to even the playing feild, but the double yolk didn’t look that much larger than the single yolk and what else was I going to do with a double-yolked egg?  Now, you can’t see it from this photo, but the duck egg yolk was a deeper yellow than the chicken egg yolk.

I scrambled each egg, added a bit of salt, pepper and milk over low heat until just set.  The duck egg yolk and white didn’t mix as well as the chicken eggs, with parts of the egg white totally unincorporated into the yolk.  The duck eggs were a much deeper yellow than the chicken eggs.  After slicing a little fresh mozarella with tomato and opal basil for accompaniment and palate cleansing, I dug in.

scrambled duck eggs are a deeper yellow than chicken eggs

Now, the duck egg DID have a double yolk (blast you, double yolk, always messing up my taste tests), but the duck eggs were smoother, richer and moister without being heavy or dense they way you might expect eggs with a higer yolk content to be.  In comparison, the scrambled chicken eggs almost felt a little spongy to me.  Something inside of me says that duck eggs are just richer and creamier (as the man who sold them to me purported), but more testing is necessary before I make any definitive claims.  Next project- quiche!

2 Responses to “Duck vs. Chicken: Ultimate Egg Showdown!”

  1. Aunt Kim November 4, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Hey, Dale, not to further complicate but was the chicken egg a farmer’s market egg too? People say there is a huge difference between farm fresh and grocery store eggs.

  2. Andrew December 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    I have a friend with his own chickens and ducks who I get eggs from. Both taste far better than any store bought eggs but you lose a lot of that flavor and digestive enzymes by breaking the yolk. I highly recommend cooking them so that the yolk stays runny or at least a little soft by poaching, frying, or soft boiling.

Leave a Reply

