Paint a Chalkboard on your Wall

22 Nov

I’ve already sung the praises of chalkboard paint, and while I’ve since put the chalkboard table up for adoption, my love for all things chalkboard hasn’t died.  I have a habit of making lists of possible dinners I can make with the ingredients we have in the house and garden and have been wanting a way to display them prominently so I don’t forget my options come dinnertime.  I still had half a can of chalkboard paint in the attic and decided to paint a chalkboard right on the wall in our kitchen.

I started by taping off a rectangle on the wall and filling it in with chalkboard paint:

Next, I penciled in a frame drawing around the chalkboard box, filled it in with gold paint and drew details with a black paint pen.Buy some chalkboard paint.  Let me know what you do with it.

2 Responses to “Paint a Chalkboard on your Wall”

  1. Rachel November 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    How well does the chalk write on the chalkboard paint? How easy is it to erase?

    Love
    Rachel

  2. mackeyda November 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    It was fantastic for writing on the table (wood), but it’s not as great on the wall (plaster and medium glossy paint), so I think it has to do with what’s underneath it. It’s not as good as a chalkboard you buy in the chalkboard store, but it’s totally adequate unless you’re going to use it for writing novels.

    You pretty much need a wet cloth to erase it completely, but that ain’t no thang.

Leave a Reply

