Make Your Own Lip Balm

13 Dec

Ever since my trip to Erin’s Meadow Herb Farm, I’ve been dweebing out on making my own herbal goodies.  After another trip there this weekend, I’ve added even more fuel to the herbal fire.  Walking around, I started making plans to build terrariums, make my own body and linen sprays and other countless projects.  If it weren’t for this pesky job I have, I’d be surrounded by herbs and jars and stamp-carving tools all day long, but alas for now I have to focus on one project at a time.  Most recently, I decided to mix up some homemade lip balm for (spoiler alert!) some small holiday treats for friends.

Lavender, Rose and Chamomile Lip Balm (makes about 20 balms)
1 teaspoon each: dried rose buds, lavender and chamomile flowers (this made for very mild scent- double the amount for a stronger scent if you wish)
1/2 c olive oil
1 oz beeswax

Infuse oil with rose, lavender and chamomile by heating oil over a low flame, adding the herbs and letting it infuse for 1-3 hours.  Strain oil into small pot with a fine seive or cheesecloth, add beeswax and allow it to melt into the oil completely.  Pour warm mixture into containers until it sets (I used small solvent mixing cups I got from a local art store, but you can buy stuff like this online for cheap).

Being anal-retentive when it comes to all things crafty, I carved a little leaf stamp and labled & stamped the unused parts of the DVD labels we use by the ton at work, which fit perfectly on the tops of the little containers.  It’s a Christmas miracle!

You can get the herbs and beeswax at your local hippie or specialty food store co-op type places, but if you’re desperate you can definitely buy all the supplies you need online.  It’s easy, fast, and CHEAP- the whole process will cose you maybe $15, less than $1 per balm, y’all!

One Response to “Make Your Own Lip Balm”

  1. David Kodeski December 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Loving your awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

