Make Your Own Linen and Body Mists

16 Dec

I’m a big fan of things smelling good, but not a big fan of perfumes.  They’re usually too strong and fakey smelling for my liking, which is why I was delighted to get a recipe from Erin’s Meadow Herb Farm for natural fragrance mists (I’m really trying not to use the word “aromatherapy”- there’s just something about it and its overuse that grates on me.  Though really, how much better is “natural fragance mists?”).  They’re super easy to make and smell (in my opinion) way better than store-bought perfumes and sprays.

The only things you need are spray bottles (you can get them fo super cheap in the laundry sections of most stores that have laundry sections), a few bottles of essential oils (available at any hippie store in the world or easy to find online.  these range from $5-20 per little bottle, but they’ll last forever), some cheap vodka (that’s right) and some water.

I made three mists- a peppermint, spearmint and eucalyptus spray, a lemon, grapefruit and sweet orange spray, and a sweet lavender spray. I really love all of these- I must admit that I was going to give one away as a gift and decided to keep it for myself.  Merry Christmas to me.

Spray Body and Linen Mists
2 oz distilled water
2 oz. vodka (I used Kamchatka, my new favorite vodka- and coincidentally the cheapest)
20 drops essential oil

Combine ingredients in a spray bottle.  Shake well before you spray.

Leave a Reply

