Make a Light-Up LED Sweater

20 Dec

Last week we went to party that encouraged fancy or festive sweaters.  After searching my closet and finding myself with nary a fancy or festive sweater in site and without time to swing by a thrift store to pick up something gaudy, I realized I was going to have to get a little creative.  My first thought was to sew the ornaments that didn’t fit on our little tree this year to a sweater, so I started rummaging through our box of unused Christmas stuff.  When I discovered four sets of small battery powered LED lights I’d bought at IKEA years ago, I knew what I had to do.

With T-minus 1.5 hours until the party started, I quickly sewed two pockets on the inside of the sweaters where the battery packs would live.  I then strung the lights around the inside of the sweather, poking holes to pop the little LED’s through the front and sewing them in place.  After a quick check revealed two of the four lights had dead batteries, I scoured the house, removing batteries from remote controls, clocks and a small flashlight.  Every time I go to use the remote and curse its lack of battery power, I think back to my shining sweater and smile.  They were sacrificed for a very glamorous cause.

Dale All Aglow

2 Responses to “Make a Light-Up LED Sweater”

  1. Justine February 22, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Great idea!
    I’m thinking about doing it for the Lady Gaga concert.
    Couple questions:
    1. How long did you have them lit up?
    2. How long did they stay lit?
    3. Did they get hot (like will i start on fire if i do this?)

  2. mackeyda February 22, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    I had them lit for about two hours and they stayed lit. Since they are LED, they do not produce any heat and so will not start a fire…

Leave a Reply

