Christmas Treats

24 Dec
Christmas Gumdrop Pops
My good friend Kate sent me a recipe for gumdrop pops and as soon as I saw it I knew 1) that Kate knows me very well and 2) I was going to have to find time to make them.  I mean, really, who doesn’t like the idea of cutting up gumdrops and sticking them onto skewers to make adorable little people and things?  OK, maybe not everyone, but I do. As much as I heart the snowman, tree and santa, I’m really really loving these little mushrooms.
Mine aren’t quite as picture perfect as Martha’s, but I’m still a little smitten with them.  You can find the instructions here.
Christmas Rocky Road

Last year I bought Nigella Lawson’s Christmas cookbook after hearing a really charming interview with her on the radio.  I’ve made a few things from it, all of which has been really delicious, but my favorite by far is her recipe for Christmas Rocky Road. You can play around with the ingredients- I use ginger snaps instead of amaretti cookies and craisins in lieu of candied cherries.  The variations are endless!

photo from "Nigella Christmas"

this recipe is for Christmas Rocky Road by Nigella Lawson.  I usually substitute ginger snaps for amaretti cookies and craisins for candied cherries- you can get creative with all different types of nuts, cookies and dried berries!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, softened, plus extra for greasing
  • 4 tbsp corn syrup
  • 4 cups  amaretti cookies
  • 1/2 cup shelled Brazil nuts
  • 1/2 cup red candied cherries
  • 1/4 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1 tbsp powdered sugar
  • edible glitter, to decorate (optional)

Preparation method

  1. Place the dark and milk chocolate pieces into a heavy-based pan. Add the butter and golden syrup and cook over a low heat to melt and combine.
  2. Place the amaretti cookies into a freezer bag and bash with a rolling pin to make crumbs of various sizes.
  3. Place the Brazil nuts into another freezer bag and bash in the same way.
  4. Take the pan of melted chocolate mixture off the heat and add the crushed biscuits and nuts.
  5. Add the cherries and mini marshmallows. Fold the mixture carefully to coat all of the solid ingredients with the syrupy chocolate mixture.
  6. Pour the mixture into a 29 x 11 in greased and lined baking tray and smooth the surface as much as possible (although it will look bumpy).
  7. Refrigerate for two hours, or until firm enough to cut. Dust with icing sugar, then sprinkle with edible glitter if you wish.
  8. Remove the block of rocky road from the tray and cut into 24 rectangles.
Leave a Reply

