Frienassance!

30 Dec

Part of the reason I like having a blog is because I’m not great at keeping in touch.  I don’t really like talking on the phone and never really know what to write in letters, even though I love sending them.  I’m pretty much an in-person kind of gal.  Having a blog allows me to share the happy little parts of my daily life with friends far and wide, but it’s still no substitute for face-to-face contact.

I have to most amazing group of friends from college.  I’m not exaggerating when I say each of them is brilliant, hilarious and doing totally impressive things.  Among our group we have lawyers, an urban planner, prison activists, civil servants, teachers, an ethical business woman, writers, singers, artists, and media producers.  Naturally, you’d think I’d be talking to these women every day- hearing about their lives, gathering insights, laughing.  But daily life gets in the way of the best intentions and so often the only time I get to really connect with them all is during New Year’s Eve, when we all gather in a designated location for a weekend of catching up, cocktails, dance parties, ukulele playing and epic relaxing.  We’ve been doing it for years now and I’m so grateful we’ve kept it up.
This year I’m so excited for it I decided to make a banner for the occasion, which we’ve deemed “Frienaissance,” as it’s an annual revival of our bond to one another.  For 2011 we will gather in Iowa City, where the banner will proudly hang for the weekend.  We’re just about to leave for the airport, and I’m oh so excited.  Happy New Year, y’all.
Leave a Reply

