Open Road: All Seems Beautiful at the Detroit Airport

3 Jan

When I’m on a vacation, be it a month-long backpacking trip or weekend jaunt, each day I plan to leave a section of Walt Whitman’s Song of the Open Road. I might leave it in a B&B guestbook, tuck a note behind a hotel painting or write it on a dollar bill I spend at a hot dog stand. In any case, I’ll be tracking where I leave the poem here. I call it The Open Road Project.

I left the twenty-third section of the poem in a group of payphones at the Detroit airport.  They were pristine metal booths with what looked to be almost new payphones, and of course nobody used a single one the entire hour and a half I sat across from them waiting for our connecting flight to Iowa City for New Year’s Eve.

I should note that I decided to add the slightest bit of consistency to the Open Road Project by creating an Open Road Project stamp.  I’ll try to remember to take these with me as I go on future trips.

“All seems beautiful to me, can repeat over to men and Woman. You have done such good to me. I would do the same to you.”

Leave a Reply

