A Nordic Breakfast

10 Jan

I don’t know if it’s the cold weather and snow outside, the fact that I’m reading The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo which is set in Switzerland Sweden (I never  can keep my Scandinavian countries straight) and contains numerous scenes in which the characters are eating open-faced sandwhiches or my Nordic roots finally coming to the surface of my culinary predispositions, but lately I’ve been craving smoked fish and dark dark bread.  I finally decided to give in to this craving and picked up some smoked salmon, capers, cream cheese and pumpernickle bread which I enjoyed this morning with some fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice and tea.  It was a lovely winter breakfast that reminded me of Scandanavia.

One Response to “A Nordic Breakfast”

  1. Liz January 13, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Hey, love o’ mine. (I think it’s set in Sweden.) Your meal sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

