Make Cucumber Water (and cucumber vodka)

12 Jan

I have a terrible secret- I drink a lot of diet soda.  I’m not a big milk drinker, most juice has too much sugar, and water is just so boring.  I’ve been trying to better with drinking unsweetened iced tea and sparkling water with some success, but yesterday I think I made a breakthough. I was making a salad and had most of a cucumber left over. Fearing (based on past experience) that it would get lost in the fridge until it was unusable, I decided to throw several slices into a pitcher of water and let it sit for a few hours.  I always seem to forget how, in my opinion, water becomes infintely more drinkable with just a few slices of cucumer.  It’s greener, fresher, mellower and it beats a Diet Coke any day.  And what could be easier that throwing 7-10 cucumber slices in water and waiting?  You can leave the cucumbers in the water and continue  to refill the pitcher for a several days.

But wait!  I still had about 1/4th of a cucumber left?  What to do???  Thankfully, I had an empty bottle on hand and some vodka.  Naturally, cucumber infused vodka was in order.  I cut the cucumber really small, just so it could fit through the narrow neck of the bottle I was using, but simple round slices would do just fine.  Add about 1/4 cucumber to 2 cups of vodka and allow it to soak at least 24 hours.  After that, you can strain the cucumbers out or allow them to sit for up to a week before drinking all the vodka or straining it.  Any longer that a week and the cucumbers will start to break down and make your vodka cloudy.

Leave a Reply

