Make Duxelles

15 Jan

I’ve spent enough time curled up in bed with a good cookbook, reading recipes before drifting off to sleep with visions of Artic Char and Potato Gratin dancing in my head, that it’s not often I come across a foodstuff I’ve never heard of.  This was just my experience, however, when I was reading the January/February issue of Cooking Light and came across a recipe for Duxelles.  According to Wikipedia, Duxelles is “is a finely chopped (minced) mixture of mushrooms or mushroom stems, onions, shallots and herbs sautéed in butter, and reduced to a paste (sometimes cream is used as well). It is a basic preparation used in stuffings and sauces (notably, beef Wellington), or as a garnish.”

I’m a big mushroom fan, so I decided to give it a shot.  This recipe is mild but rich and meaty in the veggie-ish way that mushrooms are meaty (I could just say umami, but I’d feel like a tool).  So far I’ve added it to matzoh balls, gnocchi with brown butter and asparagus, pot roast, scrambled eggs, polenta with bacon and used it as a condiment on a baguette.  In every case I think it really added to the dish.  The magazine suggests making a batch and freezing most of it, but I’m going to use this up so fast there’ll be no freezing for me.

Duxelles is as yummy as this picture is crappy.

Duxelles (recipe from Cooking Light)

10 3/4 cups sliced mushrooms (about 3 pounds)

1 T olive oil

3/4 C minced onion

1/2 C minced leek (about 1 small)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 C minced fresh parsley (I used thyme)

3 T minced fresh chives

2/3 t salt

1/4 t freshly ground black pepper

1. Place about 2 C mushrooms in a food processor, and pulse 12 times or until finely chopped, scraping sides of bowl occaisionally. Place chopped mushrooms in a large bowl. Repeat procedure in batches with the remaining mushrooms.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion, leek, and garlic to pan; saute 3 minutes or until tender. Stir in mushrooms; saute 30 minutes or until liquid evaporates, stirring occaisionally. Remove from heat; stir in parsley, chives, salt and pepper. Cool completely.  Yields 4 cups.

Leave a Reply

