Cocktail of the Week: Mangosteen Martini (aka “Unicorn Sweat”)

20 Jan

Have you ever heard of a mangosteen?  I hadn’t until I visited the epic grocery store Jungle Jim’s and happened upon a variety of sodas in the Chinese section of which I had never heard. I picked up a can on a whim, thinking it might be fun to make a cocktail or two with the fruity concoction.

The mangosteen is a fruit native to Indonesia.  It has a thick brown rind with soft white flesh inside.  Its taste and texture is apparently comparable to a peach (says wikipedia), and the soda I bought was vaguely peachy.

I’d also recently picked up some Hana Awaka sparkling sake after tasting it at Knoxville’s fabulous nama and since both the soda and sake were sweet, light and effervescent, I thought they’d pair well together.  I love this sake.  There’s still a place in my heart that misses drinking Andre champagne with my friends in college, and this strawberry sparkling sake is the slightly more sophisticated way to relive those sugary champagney days of my tenure as a co-ed.

To offset the sweetness of the mangosteen and sake, I thought I’d add vodka and lime to the mix.  I’m pretty happy with the final product- sweet, light, tart, sparkly.  I call it “unicorn sweat.”

Unicorn Sweat

  • 1.5 oz Vodka
  • 1.5 oz Mangosteen Soda
  • 1 oz Lime Juice
  • Sparkling Sake to top

Fill up shaker with ice and  add the lime juice, mangosteen and vodka. Shake well then strain into a chilled martini glass. Top with a splash sparkling sake.

Leave a Reply

