Cocktail of the Week: Chartreuse Cocktail

3 Feb

I met a friend of a friend at a party we had recently, and as soon as I met her I knew she looked familiar.  When I told her I thought I’d met her before, she nodded.

“Downtown Wine and Spirits,” she said, and I realized that she works at my favorite purveyor of delicious alcoholic things in Knoxville.

“You buy… green chartreuse,” she said, and indeed, she’s right.  Green chartreuse is probably my favorite liqueur- it’s sweet but strong, tasting of green herbs with a little kick of spice.  It’s not cheap, but a little goes a long way.  This cocktail also features Luxardo Maraschino liqueur (has nothing to do with bright red cherries) and eau de vie (brandy).  It’s thick, strong and sweet.  Be careful- it definitely packs a punch!

Chartreuse Cocktail
  • 1 oz.            eau de vie
  • .75 oz.        Green Chartreuse
  • .75 oz.        Fresh Lime Juice
  • .5 oz.          Maraschino Liqueur
  • .125 oz.      Simple Syrup

Shake ingredients in a shaker and strain.

Leave a Reply

