Make Your Own Microwave Popcorn

25 Feb

I rarely watch a movie without a snack and in the movie-watching-while-eating arena, I’m pretty traditional.  If you ask me, there’s nothing like sitting on the couch with a big old bowl of popcorn and Netflix instant streaming.

It struck me as silly that I continually buy bags of microwave popcorn that cost five times what a giant bag of popcorn kernels that will surely last me until I die when I can just suck it up and make it on the stove.  But at my core I’m a lazy person and the last thing I want to do before plopping on the couch and vegging out is hauling out a big old pot that I’ll later have to wash and waiting at the stove for my popcorn to pop.

And then it occurred to me- surely there’s nothing magical about prepackaged bags of microwave popcorn.  Why couldn’t I just put some kernels in a paper lunch bag, tie it up and stick it in the microwave?  Answer: there’s no reason I couldn’t.  And you know what?  It worked beautifully.  Not only is it cheaper than microwave popcorn, it’s lighter and isn’t loaded down with fake butter granules.  It’s an open pallet to which you can salt and butter to your taste or get wild and add different toppings (sugar, cayenne pepper, lime juice, hot sauce, white pepper, cinnamon…)  This popcorn is your oyster!

I usually pour about 1/3 cup of kernels into a lunch bag, add maybe a teaspoon of oil and a few shakes of salt, shake the bag up to incorporate the salt and oil and stick the bag in the microwave for 2-3 minutes.  I left it in too long the first time and was faced the worst burnt popcorn I’ve ever smelled (my microwave still has a slight burnt popcorn aroma), so make sure you don’t wander too far while it’s popping  and don’t push your luck.  You may have a bunch of unpopped kernels left over, but trust me, it beats the alternative.  Lately I’ve been adding truffle oil and smoked salt to the finished popcorn and I must say it’s more delicious than any microwave popcorn I’ve tasted.
2 Responses to “Make Your Own Microwave Popcorn”

  1. magi walker February 25, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    hey dale,
    great advice! I’ll try that next time I get to watch a movie and snuggle with my hunny-bunny. My favorite toppers are sesame oil and togarashi. Tasty!

  2. Michael February 26, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    Holy Shit! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

