Make Green Bread

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I must admit that I forgot to wear green today, but I’ve made it this far without getting pinched.  Hopefully my luck will continue.  Despite my negligence in the fashion department, I did get it together to whip up some appropriately green bread to share with my coworkers today.

I’d planned to make a green foccacia, but I didn’t get around to baking until 9 p.m., so I modified a basic quick bread recipe, adding blue cheese and pesto (thus the green color). The finished product is tasty, moist and festive. Yay! If I was to make it again, I’d mix in a few drops of green food coloring just to punch up the color a bit.  My coworkers and I enjoyed it this morning with cream cheese.

Pesto Quick Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 2 TBS baking powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup safflower or vegetable oil
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup pesto
  • 4 oz. blue cheese, crumbled
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix flour and baking powder and add salt and pepper to taste
  3. Whisk eggs, oil and milk together in a separate bowl.
  4. Fold the pesto mixture into the flour mixture until well mixed.
  5. Add blue cheese crumbles and stir.
  6. Pour batter into a well-oiled loaf pan.
  7. Bake for about fifty minutes, until top is lightly browned and toothpicks come out clean.

Want more recipes?  Check out the Domesticity page for all kinds of food and drink.  And if you’re feeling like getting your herb on, check out the Apothecary page.

One Response to “Make Green Bread”

  1. Karen September 17, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Great idea. Sounds very flavorful.

Leave a Reply

