Grapefruit Rosemary Perfume

18 Mar

Spring seems to finally have sprung here in Knoxville (fingers crossed there are no more cold snaps in our future).  Each spring, I feel like I shed some cranky skin I’ve been stuck in all winter.  I have tons energy, I want to create things, I want to visit with everyone– I basically become the person I’ve been trying to be all winter, but in the spring I really mean it.  With this transition comes the urge to change superficial things about myself- my hair color, my clothes, my bedspread- to reflect outwardly what feels like such a massive internal change.  So this year I’m marking the beginning of spring with a new scent!

I like the idea of having a perfume that people might associate with me, but have never been a fan of actual perfumes since most are just way too flowery and overpowering for me.  I found a little atomizer at our local co-op and was inspired to try a hand at making my own.  It’s basically the same formula as the linen and body mists, but with more essential oil to up the potency.  I’m loving the combination of grapefruit and rosemary– it’s neither too sweet nor too piney and really energizing.

Grapefruit Rosemary Perfume

  • 1 oz water
  • 1 oz vodka
  • 20 drops grapefruit essential oil
  • 15 drops rosemary essential oil

Mix ingredients thoroughly and store in atomizer or spray bottle.  Shake before each use to make sure everything’s properly mixed.

For more posts like this one, check out the Apothecary page.

Leave a Reply

